Borknagar – Universal (2010)

Album Review

Universal is the eighth full-length album by the Norwegian metal band Borknagar. It marks the return of bassist Tyr and guitarist Jens Ryland. The band’s former vocalist ICS Vortex performed vocals on the track My Domain.[2] The album was intended to be released in the fall of 2009, but the release date was postponed as a result of a label decision.[3] It was released on February 22, 2010 in four formats: a regular jewelcase CD, a limited digipack which includes a bonus disc, a CD box with extras, and a gatefold LP with double vinyl… Read more on

About the Band

A combination side project and supergroup of the Norwegian black metal scene, Borknagar members Oystein G. Brun (guitar, ex-Molested), Garm (vocals, also of Ulver and Arcturus), Ivar Bjornson (keyboards, ex-Enslaved), Infernus (bass), and Grim (drums; also of Immortal and Gorgoroth) started their own project in 1995. Not wasting any time, their self-titled debut came out early the following year on Malicious Records, and landed them a deal with Century Media Records soon thereafter. Kai Lie replaced Infernus for their second album… Read more on


Title Composer Time